Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

...

Publishing content within the CMS follows these basic steps:

Section
Column
Create/Edit

Table of Contents

Preview

maxLevel

Save

2

  • Publish / Confirm
    (see also: Scheduling Content)
  • * Unpublish
    (see also: Scheduling Content)
  • * Delete
  • minLevel2

    Column

    ...

    1

    ...

    . Create / Edit

    ...

    To create content, see the specific instructions under Content Types.click the desired 'Create' link in the Admin Tools menu

    To edit content, you have two options:

    1. Navigate to the page Use the Content List to find the item you wish to edit (remember to log in, first), then click the Edit current tab
      NOTE: If the content is not currently published, the tab will read Edit latest
      Image RemovedUse the Content List (linked from either the My Groups page or the bottom of the Admin Tools menu) to find the page you wish to editor navigate directly to the item)
    2. Click the Edit, Edit Current, or Edit Latest tab
      Edit: Appears only prior to first publish of content
      Edit Current: To edit the currently published version of the content
      Edit Latest: To edit the latest (unpublished) revision after the current published version

    Whether creating or editing, you will be presented with the editable view form of the current Content Type you are working with.When you are finished making changes, choose  Follow the type-specific instructions to make desired changes.

    Choose from one of the buttons at the bottom of the page: Image Removed

    • Save: Use only if you are certain of your changes (see #3)
    • Preview: View your changes before you save them (see #2)
    • View changes: To view a side-by-side comparison of your changes against the current published or last saved version (see Compare to current) NOTE 1: This comparison shows the underlying HTML changes, so may be less helpful for those not comfortable with HTML code
      NOTE 2: This button will not appear when creating content for the first time
    • Delete / Delete all revisions: To permanently delete the content (and all its any revisions, if there are anypresent)
      NOTE 1: DO NOT USE BEFORE READING #6, BELOW NOTE

    2

    ...

    . Preview

    ...

    This renders a view of the content as it will be seen by the user . Scrolling down past the view will bring you to the (see exceptions, below). Scroll down to view another editable form of the content again, where you can make any changes (see #1, above).NOTE: Unfortunately, there are currently some further changes.

    Info
    titlePreview exceptions - Save for true display

    There are currently 2 main exceptions to the accurate display of the preview screen

    ...

    .

    1. The Preview displays at full-width, which is not true for the final saved result
    2. Certain HTML formatting displays in Preview, but not once saved.

    In either case, saving the content produces the true final display and still allows further editing before publication.

    3. Save

    When you are satisfied with your content, click Save.

    ...

    This saves any changes you have made and presents you with After saving your changes you will see the Revisions sub-menu:

    Image Removed

    • List all revisions: Lists all existing revisions for the content (see #6, below)
    • View: Shows the content as the visitors will see it
    • Edit: Shows the edit screen for the content
      NOTE: This button is visible ONLY to Publishers and Admins
    • Publish this: Publishes the content
      NOTE: This button is visible ONLY to Publishers and Admins
    • Compare to current: Same as View Changes (see #1, above)
      NOTE: See Compare to current
    Warning

    NOTE: For Non-Publishers and Non-Admins, clicking Save means they will no longer be able to edit that revision. These Member-level users may view the edited content, or create another revision based off the current published content, but they may not re-edit an existing revision. A Publisher or Admin must publish or edit that revision.

    ...

    3.5 - Revision List

    Clicking the Revisions or Revision Operations tab at any time will show all revisions for the content. There are three states of revision:

    1. Archived  (grey color)
    2. Published (yellow color)
    3. Pending revision (pink color)

    Click the hyperlinked date for a given entry to view and edit that entry.

    Image Added

    Tip
    titleRevert to previous published version

    To revert to a previous revision, you actually edit, save and publish a new version of that previous revision:

    1. Click the hyperlinked date of the desired revision
    2. Edit the revision as desired
    3. Click Save
    4. Publish as normal

    4. Publish & Confirm

    This step is only available to Publishers and Admins.

    Clicking the Publish this button will Click Publish to bring up a confirmation screen. Clicking the Publish button again will

    Click Publish again to publish that content to the live USM site.

    ...

    Tip
    titleAutomatic publishing

    It is possible to set content to be published (and unpublished) at a specific date and time in the future. This can allow you to create the content ahead of time and set the time for it to appear.
    See Scheduling Content.

    ...

    , for certain content types (see Scheduling Content)

    5. Unpublish & Confirm

    This step is only available to Publishers and Admins.

    This function is not available directly from the Creation/Edit process, but is available through the revisions menu and from the Content List.

    Clicking the List all revisions button on the Revisions tab shows all revisions for the current content:

    Image Removed
    The revisions are color-coded by status"

    • Pink: Pending
    • Yellow: Published
    • Purple: Archived

    Clicking the Unpublish current revision link will unpublish that revisionClick Unpblish to bring up a confirmation screen.

    Click Unpublish again to unpublish that content.

    NOTE: This means that the content will not be visible to visitors. If this is content on the home page, such as Promo Items or Overview content, the space reserved for that content will appear empty. Unpublishing content does not automatically publish another version.

    ...

    To revert to a previous revision

    1. Click the date stamp link for that revision
    2. Edit the revision as desired (or leave as is)
    3. Click Save (or Preview, if necessary)
    4. Publish as normal

     

    Tip
    titleAutomatic unpublishing

    It is possible to set content to be unpublished (and published) at a specific date and time in the future.
    See Scheduling Content.

    Anchor
    anch_6
    anch_6
    6.

    ...

    Delete (Back to top)

    This step is only available to Publishers and Admins.

    This function is available at the bottom of an item's edit screen and on the Revisions menu, and will permanently delete the selected content (and any of its revisions, if there are any)

    Warning
    title*Deleting = PERMANENT*

    THIS ACTION IS PERMANENT. ANY CONTENT DELETED FROM THE SYSTEM IS NOT RECOVERABLE.

    WHEN IN DOUBT, UN-PUBLISH THE CONTENT INSTEAD AND REVERT TO A PREVIOUS VERSION (see #5, above).

    This step is only available to Publishers and Admins.

    This function is not available directly from the Creation/Edit process, but is available through the revisions menu and from the Content List.

    Clicking the Delete / Delete all revisions link (or buttons) will bring up a confirmation screen. Clicking the Delete button again will permanently delete the selected content (and any of its revisions, if there are any)