Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

...

Section
Column

Login to the CMS (see: Logging in)

Choose View Members from the My Groups tab.

Column

  Image Removed

...

Section
Column

Member is the lowest permission level. Members can author content, but cannot publish it. They cannot manage the list of site users.

To add members to your site:

  1. Choose the Add members tab
  2. Type in the UMS ID of each user
    NOTE: Multiple users may be added, with each ID separated by a comma (",")
  3. Click Add users.
Warning

Note: Before users may be added to a group, they must first login to the CMS once (at http://cms.usm.maine.edu/user)

Column

Image Removed

...

Section
Column

Publisher is the next permission level. Publishers can author and publish content, but they cannot manage the list of site users.

To grant a member the Publisher role:

  1. Click the Configure roles tab
  2. Check the group publisher checkbox next to the user's ID
    NOTE: un-checking the box will revert the user to a Member role
  3. Click Save
Column

Image Removed

...

Section
Column

Admin is the highest level of permission available. Group Admins may author and publish content. They may also add members, grant Admin status to members, and remove members from the group entirely.

IMPORTANT: The Admin role is reserved for regular USM staff members and should be granted with caution.

To grant/revoke Admin status:

  1. Choose List
  2. Click Admin: Create next to a user's ID
    NOTE: Clicking Admin: Remove will remove the Admin role from any current Admins
Column

Image Removed

Table of Contents

...

Column

Contributors to your site will have one of three statuses: Member, Publisher, or Admin (see User Roles).
All users may:

Only Group Admins may:

Column
Note

NOTE: A single user may be added to any multiple groups and that user may be assigned different roles for each of those different groups.

For example, Amanda Jones may have all of the following roles, as granted by the Admins of the respective groups:

  • Group Member of the "Engineering Department" Group
  • Group Publisher of the "College of Science, Technology and Health" Group
  • Group Publisher of the "Admission" Group
  • Group Admin of the "Financial Aid Office" Group

maxLevel2
minLevel2

User Roles

Section
Column
width50%

The Web CMS has 3 primary roles:

  • Group Member
  • Group Publisher
  • Group Admin

Users may belong to one or more Groups, and one or more roles within a group.



Create Content

Publish Content

Manage Users

Group Member

Image Added

Image Added

Image Added

Group Publisher

Image Added

Image Added

Image Added

Group Admin

Image Added

Image Added

Image Added

Column
Warning
title*IMPORTANT*

The Group Admin role should be reserved for regular faculty and staff employees of the university. Do not give Group Admin roles to any user who is not faculty or staff, since that user will then have complete control over the group site, including the ability to remove all other users (such as other Group Admins).

Note
titleCatalog-specific roles

Roles pertaining to the management of the academic catalog (editing degrees, etc.) are discussed here .

View Users

View the Members of a given group in one of two ways:

  1. From the My Groups screen, click the View Members link for the desired group
  2. From within a group, click the Group Member List link in the Admin Tools menu 

Image Added

Add Users

To add a user to your group:

Warning
titleFirst time CMS users

New users to the CMS must login once BEFORE they may be added to a group.

  1. Click the Add People link
  2. Enter the UMS (MaineStreet) login of each user
    Ex: "william.d.blais", "alfred.newman", etc.
  3. Check the desired roles for the user
    NOTE: Not assigning any roles will add the user as a Member (see 'User Roles', above)
  4. Click Add users

Edit Users

To edit the role(s) of a current user in your group:

  1. Click the Edit link for that user
  2. Check/Uncheck the desired roles for the user
  3. NOTE: Not assigning any roles will add the user as a Member (see 'User Roles', above)
  4. Click  Update membership

Remove Users

To remove a user from your group:

  1. Click the 'Edit' link next to the desired user
  2. On the next page, click the 'Remove' link next to the 'Update membership' button
  3. Confirm the removal on the next screen