Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 6 Next »

Publishing content within the CMS follows these basic steps:

1. Create/Edit
2. Preview
3. Save
4. Publish / Confirm
5. * Un-publish
6. * Delete

1. Create / Edit

To create content, see the specific instructions under ?Content Types.

To edit content, you have two options:

  1. Navigate to the page you wish to edit (remember to log in, first), then click the Edit current tab
    NOTE: If the content is not currently published, the tab will read Edit latest
  2. Use the Content List (linked from either the ?My Groups page or the bottom of the Admin Tools menu) to find the page you wish to edit

Whether creating or editing, you will be presented with the editable view of the current Content Type you are working with.

When you are finished making changes, choose from one of the buttons at the bottom of the page:

  • Save: Use only if you are certain of your changes (see #3)
  • Preview: View your changes before you save them (see #2)
  • View changes: To view a side-by-side comparison of your changes against the current published or last saved version (see ?Compare to current)
    NOTE 1: This comparison shows the underlying HTML changes, so may be less helpful for those not comfortable with HTML code
    NOTE 2: This button will not appear when creating content for the first time
  • Delete / Delete all revisions: To permanently delete the content (and all its revisions, if there are any)
    NOTE 1: DO NOT USE BEFORE READING #6, BELOW
    NOTE 2: This button will not appear when creating content for the first time

2. Preview

In most cases, this renders a view of the content as it will be seen by the user. Scrolling down past the view will bring you to the editable form of the content again, where you can make any changes (see #1, above).

NOTE: Unfortunately, there are currently some exceptions to the accurate display of the preview screen, especially as regards certain HTML formatting, but once it is saved, all content types will display properly, and you will still have the chance to make any changes before you publish the content.

When you are satisfied with your content, click Save.

3. Save

This saves any changes you have made and presents you with the Revisions sub-menu:

  • List all revisions: Lists all existing revisions for the content (see #6, below)
  • View: Shows the content as the visitors will see it
  • Edit: Shows the edit screen for the content
    NOTE: This button is visible ONLY to Publishers and Admins
  • Publish this: Publishes the content
    NOTE: This button is visible ONLY to Publishers and Admins
  • Compare to current: Same as View Changes (see #1, above)

NOTE: For Non-Publishers and Non-Admins, clicking Save means they will no longer be able to edit that revision. These Member-level users may view the edited content, or create another revision based off the current published content, but they may not re-edit an existing revision. A Publisher or Admin must publish or edit that revision.

4. Publish / Confirm

This step is only available to Publishers and Admins.

Clicking the Publish this button will bring up a confirmation screen. Clicking the Publish button again will publish that content to the live USM site.

NOTE: If there is a currently published version, this new published version will take its place, and the older version will be archived.

Publication delay

There may be up to a 15-minute delay between publication and visibility on the live site.
For more info, see "Why aren't my changes showing on the live site?" on the ?FAQs page.

5. * Un-publish

This step is only available to Publishers and Admins.

This function is not available directly from the Creation/Edit process, but is available through the revisions menu and from the Content List

Clicking the List all revisions button on the Revisions tab shows all revisions for the current content:


The revisions are color-coded by status"

  • Pink: Pending
  • Yellow: Published
  • Purple: Archived

Clicking the Unpublish current revision link will unpublish that revision.
NOTE: This means that the content will not be visible to visitors. If this is content on the home page, such as Promo Items or Overview content, the space reserved for that content will appear empty. Unpublishing content does not automatically publish another version.

To revert to a previous revision

  1. Click the date stamp link for that revision
  2. Edit the revision as desired (or leave as is)
  3. Click Save (or Preview, if necessary)
  4. Publish as normal

6. * Delete

This step is only available to Publishers and Admins.

This function is not available directly from the Creation/Edit process, but is available through the revisions menu and from the Content List

Clicking the Delete / Delete all revisions link (or buttons) will bring up a confirmation screen. Clicking the Delete button again will permanently delete the selected content (and any of its revisions, if there are any)

*Deleting = PERMANENT*

THIS ACTION IS PERMANENT. ANY CONTENT DELETED FROM THE SYSTEM IS NOT RETRIEVABLE BY COMPUTING SERVICES.

WHEN IN DOUBT, UN-PUBLISH THE CONTENT INSTEAD AND REVERT TO A PREVIOUS VERSION (see #5, above).

  • No labels