Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 31 Next »

User Roles

The Web CMS has 3 primary roles:

  • Group Member
  • Group Publisher
  • Group Admin

Users may belong to one or more Groups, and one or more roles within a group.

 

 

Create Content

Publish Content

Manage Users

Group Member

Group Publisher

Group Admin

*IMPORTANT*

The Group Admin role should be reserved for regular faculty and staff employees of the university. Do not give Group Admin roles to any user who is not faculty or staff, since that user will then have complete control over the group site, including the ability to remove all other users (such as other Group Admins).

Catalog-specific roles

Roles pertaining to the management of the academic catalog (editing degrees, etc.) are discussed here.

View Members

View the Members of a given group in one of two ways:

  1. From the My Groups screen, click the View Members link for the desired group
  2. From within a group, click the Group Member List link in the Admin Tools menu 

Add Users

To add a user to your group:

  1. Click the Add People link
  2. Enter the UMS (MaineStreet) login of each user
    Ex: "william.d.blais", "alfred.newman", etc.
  3. Check the desired roles for the user
    NOTE: Not assigning any roles will add the user as a Member (see 'User Roles', above)
  4. Click Add users

First time users must login before being assigned to a group

New users to the CMS must login once before they may be added to a group

Edit Users

To edit the role(s) of a current user in your group:

  1. Click the Edit link for that user
  2. Check/Uncheck the desired roles for the user
  3. NOTE: Not assigning any roles will add the user as a Member (see 'User Roles', above)
  4. Click Update membership

Remove User

To remove a user from your group:

  1. Select the radio button next to the desired user
  2. Click the Remove from group button
  3. Click the Confirm button on the confirmation screen


  • No labels